Scholarship Award from IET India 2014


About IET India Scholarship Award 2014 :

The IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology), India instituted the annual IET Scholarship Awards in 2013 to underline the organisation’s commitment to India’s engineering community and to incentivise young people entering the engineering and technology profession. The IET India Scholarship will be given on merit-based selection criteria. The total scholarship amount is Rs. 8,00,000/-. To know more please read below.

Objective :

The IET India Scholarship programme has been designed to reward and celebrate individual excellence and innovation among undergraduate engineering students. B.Tech students from AICTE/UGC-approved institutions from across the nation can apply for the scholarships across two categories – General and Women.

Eligibility Criteria :
The IET India Scholarship Award 2014 will be open to students of 2nd and 3rd year B.Tech programmes Scholarship is also open for Lateral entry students who join B.Tech programme in 2nd year.

Eligibility Guidelines:
Any Second and third year full time regular UG Engineering programme student from an AICTE/UGC approved institution
All regular credit courses must have been cleared in a single attempt by the applicant.
UG marks should be at least 60% in aggregate for the semesters cleared so far or corresponding to CGPA of at least 6.5 in a 10 point scale.
Higher Secondary (or equivalent) marks should be above 60% or of equivalent grade.
There is no age limit for the applicant.
Application is open for all IET members and non- members and for all branches of engineering as recognised by the AICTE/UGC.
Students from AICTE/UGC approved Institutions are eligible to apply for scholarship.

Categories of Scholarship :
There will be two separate categories for the Scholarships:
General Category
Women Category
Any woman engineering student can apply for both the categories, but if selected in both the categories, she will receive award in only one category as decided by the IET Jury Panel.

The Evaluation of IET India Scholarship Award 2014 will happen at 4 different stages/ levels :
Stage 1: Online Application
Students should apply for the IET India Scholarship Award 2014 online through this microsite. Applications will be considered to the IET India Scholarship Award only if attested copies (by HOD/ Principal) of required documents are scanned and uploaded by April 25, 2014

Note: Only those candidates who clear the eligibility criteria as set out by the IET India Scholarship Award will be considered in the Online Application.

Academics – 60%
Extra & Co-Curricular – 20%
Outreach – 10% (Activities other than institutional activities like; coordinating or organising industrial visits, organising lectures/seminars etc.)
Professional – 10% (Membership in professional bodies, coordinating activities of the professional bodies, office bearer of any professional body/student chapter, contributing to professional bodies through papers presentations etc.)

Stage 2: Online Test
Candidates shortlisted from Stage 1 will take an online test. The online test is to assess the applicants’ knowledge in engineering subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Electrical, Electronics, Civil, Mechanical, and Computer Science

The total number of questions will be approximately 50 with multiple choice options.

A cut off mark/score will be decided for each regional level by the national jury. Based on the cut –off, the applicants will be shortlisted for the next level.

Stage 3: Regional Level Assessment
The Regional Assessment will be conducted across 4 regions:
Regional South
Regional North
Regional East + North East
Regional West

In each region, the participants will be required to give a presentation on a specific topic that will be given by the Jury members. The topic will be focused on solving a currently societal challenge, specific to the region.

The topic will be communicated to the contestants at least 10 days in advance to allow them ample time to prepare.

Stage 4: The National Finals
The National Finals of IET India Scholarship Awards 2014 will be held tentatively in Bangalore in September 2014. Shortlisted candidates will make a presentation on their vision and solution, as they see it, for an engineering problem that is relevant to the society.

The National Finals will also include a Group Discussion (GD) among the finalists. The topic for this GD will be given by the jury on the day of the National Finals.

Number of Awards:
General Category:
Two winners per Region (totally four regions)
Two winners at the National level

Women Engineer:
Two winners per Region (totally four regions)
Two winners at the National level

Regional Level: (For both General and Women Categories)
Winner – Rs.40, 000/- + Certificate
Runner – Rs.20, 000/- + Certificate

National Level: (For both General and Women Categories)
First – Rs.75, 000/- + Certificate
Second – Rs. 60,000/- + Certificate

NOTE: If a student wins the scholarship both in Regional and National level he/she will be awarded Certificate for both the levels and the prize money for national level only.

Scholarship Awards ceremony:
The winners will be feted at a special Scholarship Awards felicitation ceremony Bangalore
Please watch this space for more details about the felicitation ceremony.

If you have any queries, please email us at
Alternately, you can reach us over phone between 10:00 AM – 6:00PM (Monday to Friday) at 080-4089 2222.


To Register Click here
Home Page

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.